The Dilemma

Strivetwosucceed, a fellow WordPress blogger, read my post Ghosts of Dating Past and asked me an interesting question that was already on my mind:

What do you need to know about the other person to move from “casual dating” to something more substantial?

I’ve been wondering that myself, as there is a Something Serious candidate in my life at the moment, and I go back and forth about whether I want to be in a substantial relationship at this point in my life. The Potato Chip Theory of Dating would suggest that I don’t. And yet.

What makes a Something Serious candidate is his character. Character trumps nearly everything else, because it is immutable. Behavior can change. Circumstances can change. But character stays the same, and it is shockingly rare for me to encounter a person who has the caliber of character than I’m looking for and who also doesn’t exhibit any of the Seven Deadly Sins of Dating.

Is it part of the human condition to simultaneously crave freedom from loneliness and complete independence? Or am I just fucked?

~ Sex Kitten (with claws)

One response

  1. LOL..I think you just wanted me to read a past post…But seriously speaking…By the mere fact that you are seeking one chip or a variety of chips says to me that you crave connection of some kind. So to turn it around on you..why would you only want Something Serious or whomever to have just a couple of Sex Kitten Chips, and leave the rest of the bag. Wouldn’t it be more fulfilling for them to enjoy the whole bag so much that it’s the only chips they will ever BUY for the rest of their life.

Leave a Reply

