“I Do … for now”

So, this might be the best idea to come out of Mexico since Tequila. And guacamole. And nachos. OK, let’s just make it the best inedible idea….

In an effort to reduce the divorce rate (ha), Mexico has proposed (oh yes I DID) the idea of a marriage license that expires. You can choose the length of time, with a minimum of two years. Unsurprisingly, the Catholic Diocese in Mexico thinks this is an appallingly bad idea.

I, however, think it’s a brilliant idea. Except that I would not let newlyweds choose the length of their license, because by definition newlyweds have terrible judgment. Instead, I would make every marriage license sold require renewing every 2 years until you’ve been married for 10 years. After that you could bump it up to a 5 year renewal if you wanted to.

~ Sex Kitten (with claws)

2 responses

  1. Ok Ms. Kitten, great minds must think alike. I blogged about the same thing today. It may be a good idea, but I would add they have to see a marital coach first. I think issues can be resolved when an experienced coach can clear out the clutter. I am going to follow you..Follow me.

Leave a Reply

