Chivalry is Dead, but Good Manners are Always “In”

I could fucking care less if you pull back my chair, open the car door, or take my arm when we cross the street. When I say I’d like to be treated as an equal, I’m not one of those women who want it both ways, crying Feminism! then smiling sweetly and pushing the bill for dinner across the table. I don’t think of myself as a girl, I’m a person. I very rarely use my sexuality to get special treatment, and when I do, I feel slightly disgusted afterward. I love men and I like flirting, but I have no patience for playing dumb or inept in a relationship. A confident, take charge type of guy is incredibly sexy, but I’m not going to shrink myself down… you will have to be that guy on your own!

Now, there is a difference between chivalry and consideration. I want you to respect me and show me care not because I am female but because you are a caring person that likes to make others feel good.

So please… introduce me when we run into someone you know. Ask me what music I’d like to listen to in the car. Pay attention when I speak and give me thoughtful gifts (not expensive… meaningful). Respect my opinions. If you don’t know what I like, ask. If I ask you to brush your teeth in the morning before you kiss me, fucking do it. Cheerfully. Bring me a glass of water without me having to ask for it. Notice when I do caring things for you. I was raised well and I am always looking for opportunities to do nice things for you. Could you please do the same?

If just once a guy would look into my eyes and ask “Can I do anything for you, darling?” after sex, it would blow my mind.

~ Sex Kitten (with claws)

3 responses

Leave a Reply

